features title
Guilty Crown (Blu-ray), Early Review
Mobile Suit Gundam (DVD), Review
Who Is the Man of Steel?
features title
Guilty Crown (Blu-ray), Early Review
By Marc | August 17th, 2013
GuiltyCrown-39

Fuji TV’s noitaminA block has been very good to us animation fans in recent years, having provided us with more than a few interesting shows (including Eden of the East, a personal favorite of mine.)

GuiltyCrown-Cover

With Funimation’s upcoming release of Guilty Crown, a recent noitaminA series, do we have another interesting series from the respected and venerable animation block worth your time and money? Continue reading

Categories: Anime Review, Early Looks, Feature, Reviews, w/ Anime Episode
Mobile Suit Gundam (DVD), Review
By Logan | July 21st, 2013
Gundam0079-08

As one of the most well-known mecha series in the world, Mobile Suit Gundam is the genesis of a franchise that is still going more than 30 years later, and with countless sequels, spin-offs, manga, video games, and of course plastic model kits, Yoshiyuki Tomino’s epic is credited with cementing the “Real Robot” genre into its place in anime history. After the rousing success of Mobile Suit Gundam Wing on Cartoon Network’s infamous and recently resurrected Toonami block, the original 1979 series that started it all made its way to American shores. A decade later, Bandai Entertainment gave fans in America the most complete version of the series it could possibly provide us; but is it worth it to track down these sets, now that Bandai is no longer with us? Continue reading

Categories: Feature, Reviews
One Image Review- Fox Marvel Movies Are On Sale
By Marc | July 18th, 2013

The various Marvel films that Fox has made are on sale on Blu-ray for $60. We here at the Fanboy Review decided we needed to review these films for our audience so they could make an educated decision on if they should spend their cash. Unfortunately we just didn’t have the time. So instead, a short review of each film on one image.

One-Word Review Poster

Click to view it larger.

 

Categories: Reviews
Who Is the Man of Steel?
By Marc | July 17th, 2013
Superman-Mad

Wasn’t sure what the first article on the new FBR would be. I figured an anime review (and in fact I was in the middle of working on one.) But then I saw an image in my head and knew what it had to be. That image is right above, from Superman vs. The Elite

After all the discussion about Man of Steel (which to be honest, I still haven’t seen… Just no drive to want to see) more and more people seem to be having a discussion comic fans have rolled around and had hundreds of times (who am I kidding, thousands, millions, it never ends.) Is Superman relevant in our darker world? Is he just a boy scout no one can relate to anymore? Does Superman need to be gritty? Continue reading

Categories: Editorial, Feature
Welcome to Fanboy Review 2.0
By Marc | July 17th, 2013
Top Gear Fire

We’ve been gone awhile (combination of being busy and wanting to improve the site before relaunching it.)

We hope you’ll give the new FBR a chance. We’ve changed the theme to hopefully be cleaner and a bit easier to navigate, along with having a nice ‘Features’ area that should show our newest and most important articles and reviews.

We’ve switched comments over to Disqus and you can post as guests if you want.

As far as staff goes, I’ll be here as always writing and going over materials with everyone else. Justin is back doing our web work again, and hopefully will join in writing when he can. Alex is back to helping with editing. We’ve also added Logan, a helpful guy with a great love for mecha to write reviews. I’m talking to a few other people who hopefully will show up before to long.

We are still cleaning up, but since everything was basically done decided it was time to launch. The first article of the new FBR should be up within an hour or two, and we are also working on a small stack of anime reviews for upcoming products and a few older releases.

If you have any suggestions, feel free to let us know.

Categories: Editorial, Feature, Site Business
Dragon Age: Dawn of the Seeker (Blu-ray/DVD), Early Review
By Marc | May 7th, 2012
DragonAgeMovie-13

The Fanboy Review is back with its second ever joint review! Join Alex and me as we take an early look at the first animated adaptation of the popular Dragon Age franchise.

 

 

Co-produced by EA and Funimation Entertainment, Dragon Age: Dawn of the Seeker made its debut in Japanese cinemas back in February and will be hitting US shelves on May 29.  This is the first bit of animation that is a Funimation ‘original’ (rather than a licensed film/show.) How does their first original production hold up? Continue reading

Categories: Anime Review, Early Looks, Feature, Reviews
Flashpoint Comic Event- Part 2, Review
By Alex | August 6th, 2011

I said to look out for a Flashpoint #2 review soon, didn’t I? Well, maybe this isn’t exactly “soon”, but that’s because this is much more than that! We’ve decided to do several Flashpoint updates, covering the event as it happens, mostly from my semi-clueless perspective. Today I’ll be covering both Flashpoint #2 and #3, as well as several of the tie-in issues that have come out recently.
 

 
At this point there are more than twenty issues relating to Flashpoint available. I normally try to avoid giving away big spoilers, but it’s going to be almost impossible for these updates. If you don’t want anything spoiled, I’d advise you to read no further.
 
Seeing as there’s so much to cover this month, I’m going to be breaking this down into sections. First up, let’s take a look at issue #2 of the main book. Continue reading

Categories: Comic Review, Feature, Reviews
Flashpoint #1 (Comic), Review
By Alex | June 24th, 2011

I’m reviewing another western comic already? Apparently so. This is issue #1 of the new miniseries, Flashpoint.
 

 
Flashpoint is Geoff Johns’ latest big event, and he and DC themselves have said it’s fine if you just want to pick up this book without reading the large amount of build up to it. To be honest, I hadn’t even heard of it, and I didn’t even know it was a Flash story when I was asked and agreed to review it! So once again, I’m going to be finding out if this comic really can stand alone and be enjoyed by someone who’s completely out of the loop. Continue reading

Categories: Comic Review, Feature, Reviews
Action Comics #900 (Comic), Review
By Alex | May 9th, 2011

This isn’t the kind of thing I’m normally asked to review, but there’s a first time for everything. Today will be my first review of a western comic book: Action Comics #900.
 

 
#900 is a milestone issue, so as well as finding out just what I think of it, I’m going to be asking myself if it’s a good place for new readers to jump in. I haven’t read a DC comic since around the Blackest Night event, so I might just have been the right person to ask! Continue reading

Categories: Comic Review, Reviews
Gunslinger Girl: Omnibus Collection 1 (Manga), Review
By Alex | February 27th, 2011

Gunslinger Girl is hitting bookshelves again, this time thanks to Seven Seas Entertainment.
 

 
This first release from them is an omnibus collecting volumes 1 through 3 of the manga. That’s 544 pages of gunslinging action! This wasn’t my first attempt to get into the series, so how did I like it this time? Read on and find out! Continue reading

Categories: Comic Review, Feature, Reviews
Advertisement